Day 2 of Election Filing

During day 2 of Election Filing on Tuesday, a fourth candidate entered the race for Mason County Commissioner District 3 when Curtis Bennett, who has “No Party Preference”, joined Independent Terri Jeffreys, Democrat Ross Gallagher, and Darrel Andrews who also has “No Party Preference” in the race for the remainder of the Jerry Lingle’s term – the seat currently held by Steve Bloomfield.

Denny Hamilton, a Democrat from Belfair, filed for Mason County Commissioner District 1, the only person to enter that race so far.

And no additional filings for Commissioner District 2 which already has incumbent Democrat Tim Sheldon, Democrat Roslynne Reed and Republican Randy Churchill.

In the 35th Legislative District, Republican Dan Griffey filed for State Representative Position 1. Already filing for State Representative Position 2 were Republican Drew MacEwen, Democrat Lynda Ring-Erickson and Independent Glenn Gaither.

The other significant filings Tuesday included Democrat Jay Inslee for Governor; Bill Finkbeiner, a Republican from Bellevue, for Lt. Governor; Democrat Jim McIntire for State Treasurer; Troy Kelley, a Lakewood Democrat, filed late Monday for State Auditor; Bob Ferguson, a Seattle Democrat for Attorney General; James Bauckman from Bellingham for Superintendent of Public Instruction; John W. Ladenburf and Richard B. Sanders both filed for Supreme Court Justice Position 9; and Shoreline Republican Art Coday filed late Monday for U.S. Senator.

Candidate filing continues until 4:30 PM Friday.