Election Results Official

The result from the August 4th Primary Election are now official. Election officials in the Mason County Auditor’s Office certified the election Tuesday.

Four county fire districts had measures on the ballot. All did received over 50 percent approval but two came up short of the 60 percent needed to pass. The Emergency Medical (EMS) Levy in Mason County Fire District 16 (West Mason Fire) received a 50.87 percent approval while Mason County Fire District 4’s EMS levy came in at 58.09 percent. Again, both needed 60 percent to pass.

Meanwhile, the measure to merge Mason County Fire District 1 into Mason County Fire District 18 had an approval of over 80 percent (80.26%). That’s 366 voting for the measure and 90 voting against.

Over 70 percent of the voters in the North Mason Regional Fire Authority were in favor of an EMS levy with 3,171 (70.29%) voting “Yes” and 1,340 (29.71%) voting “No.”

Other Primary results show incumbent Randy Neatherlin garnering over 10 percent more votes than challenger Ted Jackson for Mason County Commissioner District No. 1. The District 1 numbers have 5,025 (54.78%) voting for Neatherlin and 4,065 (44.31%) voting for Jackson. All registered voters in the County will weigh in on this race in November.

In the 35th Legislative District, incumbent Republican Drew MacEwen will face Democrat Darcy Huffman for State Representative Position 2 in November. The Primary results show MacEwen with 55.12 percent to Huffman’s 42.17 percent. The third candidate in the race, Earl W. Burt, recieved 2.57 percent of the vote.

In the race for 35th Legislative District State Representative Position 1, incumbent Republican Dan Griffey garnered 58.21 percent to Democratic challenger Colton Myers’ 41.67 percent. The two will face off again in November.

Incumbent Democrat Derek Kilmer and Republican Elizabeth Kreiselmaier will be the candidates on the General Election Ballot for 6th Congressional District U.S. Representative.

Two Democrats will face off for 10th Congressional District U.S. Representative as Marilyn Strickland and Beth Doglio emerged as the top two candidates for the seat being vacated by Denny Heck.

The two candiates on the General Election Ballot for Governor are incumbent Democrat Jay Inslee and Republican Loren Culp.

Two Democrats are on the November ballot for Lt. Governor: Denny Heck and Marko Liias.

Incumbent Republican Kim Wyman will face Democrat Gael Tarleton for Secretary of State.

The candidates for State Treasurer are Republican Duane Davidson and Democrat Mike Pellicciotti.

Incumbent Democrat Pat McCarthy will face Republican Chris Leyba for State Auditor.

The candidates for Attorney General are incumbent Democrat Bob Ferguson and Democrat Matt Larkin.

Incumbent Democrat Hilary Franz and Republican Sue Kuehl Pederson are the top two candidates for Commissioner of Public Lands.

Incumbent Chris Reykdal faces Maia Espinoza for Superintendent of Public Instruction.

And for Insurance Commissioner, incumbent Democrat Mike Kreidler faces Republican Chirayu Avinash Patel.

Turnout for the Primary Election was 54.44 percent statewide. Mason County’s turnout was 58.68 percent.

The General Election is November 3, 2020. Ballots will be mailed to voters in mid-October.