Election Results as of 1 PM 11/8/19

No significant changes in the latest results from Tuesday’s General Election. The last count was Friday, November 8th. Election officials in the Mason County Auditor’s Office have counted 19,258 ballots, increasing the turnout to 47.51 percent. Next ballot count is set for 4 PM November 25th with the election certified on November 26th.

James Boad is the newest member of the Shelton City Council, beating George Blush for Council Member No. 1 – the seat currently held by Gary Cronce. Boad garnered 827 votes (53.29%) to Blush’s 704 (45.36%). There were 21 write-ins which accounts for the remaining 1.35 percent.

Kathy McDowell will remain as Shelton City Council Member No. 2 knocking off Dean Jewett 885 votes (54.53%) to 719 (44.3%) with 19 write-ins (1.17%).

Gary Plews retains his seat as Mason County Fire District 4 Commissioner Position No. 3. Plews received 986 votes (57.13%) to David Frost’s 697 votes (40.38%) with 43 write-ins accounting for the remaining 2.49 percent.

There is a new commissioner for Mason County Fire District 5 (Central Mason Fire & EMS). Steave Pierce beat incumbent Del Griffey for Commissioner Position No. 3. Peirce garnered 2,678 votes (57.33%) to Griffey’s 1,919 (41.08%). There were 74 write-ins (1.58%).

In Mason County Fire District 6 (Union), Mike Sheetz takes Commissioner Position No. 2 beating Michelle Ozaki 543 votes (67.04%) to 264 votes (32.59%). There were only three write-ins (0.37%).

Mason County Fire District 18’s Property Tax Levy for fire protection and Emergency Medical Services passes with 70.71 percent of the votes in Lake Cushman voting for the measure to establish a property tax levy at $1.50 per $1,000 of assessed value. That’s 461 voting “Yes” and 191 voting “No”.

North Mason’s Regional Fire Authority voters have approved bonds to construct a new headquarters and Emergency Management Campus with 64.73 percent approval. That’s 2,188 voting for the $10 Million Bond and 1,192 voting against.

Close races for Southside School Board.
The exception is for Director Position No. 1 where John E. Johnson has a 334 to 291 vote lead on Don Robbins. That’s 52.85 percent to 46.04 percent with seven write-ins or 1.11 percent.
There is an eight-vote difference for Director Position No. 2 as Laurie Cox has 313 votes (50.08%) and Brandon Homan has 305 votes (48.8%) with seven write-ins (1.12%).
There are also eight votes separating Gigi Olsen and Matt Jewett in the race for Director Position No. 4. Olsen has 316 votes (49.92%) to Jewett’s 308 votes (48.66%) with nine write-ins (1.42%).

In the race for Shelton School Board Director District No. 1, incumbent Sandy Tarzwell beat Cheryl Williams 2,119 votes (51.65%) to 1,889 votes (46.04%) with 95 write-ins (2.32%).

In the Mary M. Knight School District, Cynthia Brehmeyer received 184 votes (57.32%) while Rick Johnson got 132 votes (41.12%) with five write-ins (1.56%) for School Board Director District No. 3. And Amanda Gonzales knocked off Jennifer Jutson 170 votes (57.24%) to 121 votes (40.74%) with six write-ins (2.02%) for School Board Director Position No. 2.

Janeen McLaughlin takes Pioneer School Board Director Position No. 2 over Susan (Soosi) Day 1,624 votes (56.51%) to 1,180 (41.06%) with 70 write-ins (2.44%).

Pioneer School District’s capital levy to pay the district’s portion of the cost to expand and renovate Shelton High School has passed with 54.44 percent approval. That’s 2,116 voting “Yes” and 1,771 voting “No” to raise property taxes 81 cents per thousand of assess value for the next three years.

The $30 car tab measure, Initiative 976, continues to pass with 52.93 percent approval.

Digiprove sealCopyright protected by Digiprove © 2019 Dedrick Allan