Candidate Filing Day 4

The fourth day of Candidate Filing Week has brought a crowd for Southside School Board seats up for re-election.

There are now nine people vying for three positions:
Tim Tyler entered the race for Director Position No. 1, joining John E. Johnson in challenging Don Robbins.
Megan Pierce has filed for Director Position No. 2, taking on incumbent Laurie Cox and Brandon Homan.
Matt Jewett filed for Director Position No. 4 facing Eugenie (Gigi) Olsen and incumbent Don Pogreba.

Other filings:

Donald Coots filed for Shelton City Council Member No. 2 – the seat currently held by Kathy McDowell.

Incumbent John Campbell filed for his North Mason School Board Director District No. 4 seat.

Mark McDougall filed to retain his seat as Fire Distrct 1 Commissioner Position No. 2.

Willian “Bill” Reed filed for Fire District 16 Commissioner Position No. 4.

The deadline to file for this fall’s election is 4 PM today (Friday, May 17, 2019).

Position up for election that have still not yet drawn a candidate include:
Shelton School Board Director District No. 2 (currently held by Dan Cooling)
Pioneer School Board Director District No. 2 (currenlty vacant)
Pioneer School Board Director District No. 4 (currently held by Tany Hamel)
Fire District 11 Commissioner Position No. 2 (currently held by David Brotche)
Belfair Water District Commissioner Poistion No. 2 (currently held by Jill Satran-Loudin)
All three seats on the Cemetery District 1 Commissioner (Linnie Griffin and Ken VanBuskirk currently hold two of the seats)

If no one files for these seats by the deadline, a special filing period will likely be held for each position.