General Election Results updated 11/9/18

Election officials in the Mason County Auditor’s Office have only a few ballots left to count and the latest results are close to being final. The next ballot count is set for November 26th. So far, 27,435 ballots have been counted increasing the election turnout in Mason County to 70 percent.

Still no significant change in the latest unofficial results. The numbers do NOT include write-ins. However, the number of write-ins are not expected to affect the outcome of any of the races.

Sharon Trask leads Kevin Schmelzlen for Mason County Commissioner District 3 now by 1,035 votes. Trask has 13,519 votes (51.99%) and Schmelzlen has 12,484 votes (48.01%). Trask will take the seat currently held by Terri Drexler who did not seek re-election.

Incumbent Casey Salisbury is returning as Mason County Sheriff defeating Darin Holland 65.79 percent (16,885 votes) to 34.21 percent (8,780 votes).

Patti McLean will take over as Mason County Assessor next year after defeating incumbent Melody Peterson 54.55 percent (13,679 votes) to 45.45 percent (11,399 votes).

Paddy McGuire’s lead on Charles Rhodes for Mason County Auditor is now 611 votes (2.48%). McGuire has 12,615 votes (51.24%) while Rhodes has 12,004 votes (48.76%). It appears McGuire will take the seat currently held by Karen Herr who is retiring at the end of the year.

George Steele will be taking the Mason County District Court Judge position currently held by Victoria Meadows. Steel has garnered 12,832 votes (57.92%) while Eric Valley has 9,323 votes (42.08%). Judge Meadows is retiring af the end of the year.

The merger of Mason County Fire District 9 into Fire District 16 has been approved with 80.58 percent approval. That’s 639 voting in favor and 154 voting against.

In the 35th Legislative District, the incumbents are returning to Olympia.

Tim Sheldon defeated Irene Bowling for State Senator 52.26 percent (29,213 votes) to 47.74 percent (26,690 votes).

Dan Griffey is returning as State Representative Position 1 knocking off James Thomas 57.89 percent (35,411 votes) to 42.11 percent (25,763 votes.

Drew MacEwen defeated David Daggett 51.43 percent (31,444 votes) to 48.57 percent (29,696 votes) for State Representative Position 2.