Day 1 of Candidate Filing

The first day of candidate filing netted 35 candidates for 20 offices including four for Mason County Commissioner District No. 3, three for Mason County District Court Judge, a man with no party preference for Mason County Sheriff and a Democrat will challenge Tim Sheldon for State Senate.

The four who entered the race for the Mason County Commission seat currenlty held by Terri Drexler are Sharon Trask (Prefers Republican Party), Mary Jo Cady (Prefers G.O.P. Party), Kathy Chaussee (Prefers Independent Party), and Kevin Schmelzlen (Prefers Democratict Party).

The three to file for the nonpartisan Mason County District Judge position currently held by Victoria Meadow are Eric Valley, Eugene C. Austin and John R. Bonin.

Darin Holland filed for Mason County Sheriff. Mr. Holland States No Party Preference in his declaration of candidacy for the seat currenlty held by Casey Salisbury.

The incumbents filed for the other Mason County offices up for election.
Melody Peterson (Prefers Democrat Party) filed for Assessor.
Sharon (Moore) Fogo (Prefers Democrat Party) filed for Clerk.
Wes Stockwell (Prefers Democrat Party) filed for Coroner.
Michael Dorcy (Prefers Republican Party) filed for Prosecutor.
Elisabeth (Lisa) Frazier (Prefers Democratic Party) file for Treasurer.

Jack Janda filed to retain his Commissioner District 3 seas for Mason County Public Utility District No. 1.

Bruce Jorgenson filed to retain his Commissioner District 3 seat for Mason County Public Utility District No. 3.

In the 35th Legislative District, incumbent Democrat Tim Sheldon is being challenged by Irene Bowling who is also a Democrat. Bowling challenged Dan Griffey two years ago for State Representative Position 1.
Incumbent Republican Dan Griffey filed to retain his State Representative Position 1 seat while incumbent Republican Drew MacEwen filed for his State Representative Position 2 seat.

The incumbents democrats in Congressional District 6 and 10 filed to remain U.S Representatives: Derek Kimer and Denny Heck.

Ten people filed to the U.S. Senate seat currenlty held by Maria Cantwell. They are
Sam Wright from Olympia (Prefers The Human Rights Party), Mike Luke from Lynnwood (Prefers Libertarian Party), Clint R. Tannehill from Seattle (Prefers Democratic Party), Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente who has a California address (Prefers Republican Party), Charlie R Jackson from Anacortes (Prefers Independent Party), Jon Butler from Edgewood (Prefers Independent Party), Mohammad Said from Ephrata (Prefers Democratic Party), Don L. Rivers from Seattle (Prefers Democratic Party), Keith Swank from Puyallup (Prefers Republican Party) and Dave Bryant from Bonney Lake (Prefers Republican Party).

Other filings:
Sheryl Gordon McCloud for Supreme Court Justice Position 9
Susan Owens for Supreme Court Justice Position 2
Steve Gonzales for Supreme Court Justice Position 8
Rebecca Glasgo for Court of Appeals, Division 2, District 2 Judge Position 2