Spring Forward Sunday

Daylight Saving Time (DST) begins early Sunday morning March 11, 2018. Please set your clocks forward one hour Saturday night. The main purpose of Daylight Saving Time (called “Summer Time” in many places in the world) is to make better use of daylight. We change our clocks during the summer months to move an hour of daylight from the morning to the evening. Most areas of the United States observe daylight saving time, the exceptions being Arizona (except for the Navajo, who do observe daylight saving time on tribal lands), Hawaii, and the overseas territories of American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands. Florida’s State House and State Senate approved a bill to permanently move that state to DST but the State’s Governor has yet to sign it into law. 

Approximately 70 countries utilize Daylight Saving Time in at least a portion of the country and have different change dates. Japan, India, and China are the only major industrialized countries that do not observe some form of daylight saving.

According to some sources, DST saves energy and many people believe that DST could be linked to fewer road accidents and injuries. Also, the extra hour of daylight in the evening is said to give children more social time and can boost the tourism industry because it increases the amount of outdoor activities.

Here’s a timeline of Daylight Saving Time in the US put together by CNN’s research library:
1784 – The idea of daylight saving is first conceived by Benjamin Franklin.
1914-1918 – Britain goes on DLS during World War I.
March 19, 1918 – The Standard Time Act establishes time zones and daylight saving. Daylight saving is repealed in 1919, but continues to be recognized in certain areas of the United States.
1945-1966 – There is no federal law regarding Daylight Saving Time.
1966 – The Uniform Time Act of 1966 establishes the system of uniform Daylight Saving Time throughout the United States. The dates are the last Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October. States can exempt themselves from participation.
1974-1975 – Congress extends DLS in order to save energy during the energy crisis.
1986-2006 – Daylight Saving Time begins on the first Sunday in April and ends on the last Sunday in October.
August 8, 2005 – President George W. Bush signs the Energy Policy Act of 2005 into law. Part of the act will extend Daylight Saving Time starting in 2007, from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November.
This year, Daylight Saving Time ends at 2:00 AM on Sunday, November 4th.