Burn Bans Called in All Olympic Region Counties

Outdoor burn bans have been called in all counties under the jurisdiction of the Olympic Region Clean Air Agency (ORCAA) which includes Clallan, Jefferson, Mason, Pacific, Grays Harbor, and Thurston counties. A news release from ORCAA says these annual summer-long burn bans take effect this month because of wildfire and public safety concerns in wooded counties.

Prohibitions on residential outdoor burning in Jefferson and Clallam Counties began July 1, 2017. The Grays Harbor County Fire Marshall has called a county-wide burn ban beginning Friday, July 14, for Pacific & Grays Harbor County, while the Mason County & Thurston County Fire-Safety Burn Bans begin Saturday, July 15, 2017. These seasonal bans continue through September 30. The fire curtailments an enacted annually as summer’s dry, hot weather creates greater regional fire dangers.

The Fire Safety Burn Bans apply to residential yard-waste burning as well as all Land Clearing Burns. The Washington Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has yet to announce the start of the seasonal statewide burn ban on DNR-protected lands, but that restriction is typically implemented by mid-July.

At this time, recreational fires are allowed in all counties on private residential properties and in established fire rings within official county, state or federal campgrounds.

The restrictions on outdoor burning during the summer has resulted in a significant drop in brush fires and property damage each of the past several years, according to fire officials.