PUD 1’s Karl Denison Receives Lifetime Member Award

At the June 13th board of commissioners meeting for Mason County PUD No. 1, former PUD commissioner Karl Denison was presented with the Northwest Public Power Administration’s (NWPPA) Lifetime Membership Award. Denison was unable to accept the award in person at NWPPA’s 77th Annual Conference in Oregon last month. It was accepted on his behalf and presented to him at the PUD.

Denison thanked the PUD board and staff, sharing how honored he was to be jointly nominated for the award by both PUD 1 and Energy Northwest, for whom Denison was a member of their Participant Review Board for several years. He served 12 years as a PUD 1 commissioner, representing District 1, which encompasses the Union and Alderbrook communities. “The thing I miss the most about being on the PUD board is the people,” stated Denison. “I look forward to being able to attend future NWPPA meetings as a Life Member and staying in touch with the public power community.”

NWPPA’s Life Membership Award is presented to policymakers and managers who are retiring from member utilities and have made notable contributions to the Association and public power. This year there were six recipients: Bradley G. Reeve of Kotzebue Electric Association, Inc. (Kotzebue, Alaska), Werner Buehler of Oregon Trail Electric Cooperative (OTEC) (Baker City, Ore.), Karl Denison of Mason County PUD No. 1 (Shelton, Wash.), Roger Sparks of Kittitas PUD No.1 (Ellensburg, Wash.), T. James Davis of Douglas County PUD (East Wenatchee, Wash.), and Tom Tymchuk of Central Lincoln PUD (Newport, Ore.). NWPPA is an international association representing and serving 153 utilities and 300 associate members in the Western United States and Canada.