Shelton’s Evergreen Elementary Has Principal of the Year

Evergreen Elementary Principal Adina Brito was named this year’s Washington State Elementary Principal of the Year by a panel of principals representing the Elementary School Principals Association of Washington, a component of the Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP). She was one of 27 nominees from across the state.

Brito leads the only dual language school in the Shelton School District. Many of Evergreen’s parents have limited English proficiency, so Brito has made parent outreach an integral part of her work. She hosts monthly Tea and Talk events to inform parents of initiatives and address concerns. Brito focuses on creating fun, hands on
activities that can be replicated at home through other events like Reading and Math Nights and Community Hope Gardens. She has created a warm and welcoming environment for students and parents alike.

“High expectations and standards for all is the rule for all students at Evergreen, but at the same time Adina is empathetic and passionate to ensure that all students succeed in all respects, not only academically,” noted Shelton School District Superintendent Alex P. Apostle, Ph.D, who went on to add, “She is also a visionary and embraces the philosophy of challenging the “status quo” in her effort to provide the very best and challenging opportunities for both staff and students.”

Brito started as principal at Evergreen Elementary in 2013. She was the assistant principal at Mountain View Elementary School in North Thurston Public Schools from 2011 -2013. She also worked as an administrative assistant and taught third and seventh grades in the district. A University of California Riverside graduate, she earned her Master of Education from the University of Washington in 1996 and her principal certificate from Seattle Pacific University in 2009.

National Distinguished Principal of the Year Program
Brito will be honored this fall in Washington D.C. as part of the National Distinguished Principal of the Year program, which is sponsored by the National Association of Elementary School Principals in cooperation with the U.S. Department of Education and VALIC. All state winners participate in a series of events and activities over the course of two days, culminating in a formal awards banquet. There is no national winner at the elementary level.