Parks District Candidates’ Forum

Friends of Mason County Parks held a candidates’ forum Tuesday night for the 12 people running the five commission seats that would govern the proposed Mason County Metropolitan Parks District if the MPD is approved by voters on November 8th. The candidates are Kris Klusman and Arvilla Ohlde for Position 1; Steve Van Denover and Jesse Sims for Position 2; Ken VanBuskirk, Andrew Kinney and Phil Wolff for Position 3; Monte Warren Ritter, Doug Sayan and Richard Hoss for Position 4, and John Piety and John Johnson for Position 5.

Each candidate talked about their qualifications, explained their vision for parks if elected (and the proposition passes), and answered questions from the audience. The candidates talked at length about property taxes, condemnation, working with the County Commission, and creating trust.

For more information on each candidate and the measure to form a Metropolitan Parks District in unincorporated Mason County check out