Official Primary Election Results

election 2016 cThe results from the August 2nd Primary Election are now official and the match-ups for the November 8th General Election are also now official.

In Mason County, incumbent Randy Neatherlin will face challenger Kelley McIntoch for County Commissioner District 1 while Republican Kevin Shutty and Democrat Roslynne Reed face off fro County Commissioner District 2 – the seat currently held by Tim Sheldon who is not seeking re-election.
The final numbers show Neatherlin received 54.06% of the vote (2,879 votes) to McIntosh’s 45.94% (2,447 votes). And Shutty edged Reed by 46 votes (1.02%). Shutty finished wth 1,856 votes (41.39%) to Reed’s 1,810 votes (40.37%). The third candidate in the District 2 race, Independent Steve Bloomfield, ended up with 818 votes (18.24%).

In the race for Mason County PUD No. 1 Commissioner District 1, challenger Mike Sheetz got one more vote than incumbent Karl Denison. The official numbers show Sheet with 133 votes (41.96%) to Denison’s 132 votes (41.64%). The third candidate, J. Michael Read, finished with 52 votes (16.4%).

The City of Shelton’s Emergency Medical Services Levy passed with a 65.78% approval rate. That’s 917 voting “Yes” and 477 voting “No” to renew the EMS Levy at 50 cents per thousand of assessed value.

In Mason County Fire District 11, their EMS Levy passed with 76.19% approval. That’s 352 voting “Yes” and 110 voting “No” to renew the levy for those in the Island Lake area at 50 cents per thousand.

And Mason County Fire District 17’s EMS Levy passed with 81.67% approval. That’s 147 voting “Yes” and 33 voting “No” for that 25 cents per thousand levy.

Election officials in the Mason County Auditor’s Office have counted 14,591 ballots from this election making the turnout 40%.

In the 35th Legislative District, the incumbents received over 50% of the vote.
Republican Dan Griffey finished with 54.45% (17,267 votes) to Democrat Irene Bowling’s 45.55% (14,442 votes) in the race for State Representative Position 1.
Republican Drew MacEwen ended up with 53.8% (16,774 votes) to Democrat Craig Patti’s 46.2% (14,403 votes) in the race for State Representative Position 2.

In the 6th Congressional District, incumbent Democrat Derek Kilmer will face Republican Todd A. Bloom in the General Election. Kilmer finished with 58.37% and Bloom ended up with 24.51%.

The top two coandiates in the 10th Congressional District are incumbent Democrat Denny Heck and Republican Jim Postma. Heck received 47.53% while Postma has 36.74%.

The top two candidates for U.S. Senator are incumbent Democrat Patty Murray who received 53.82% of the vote and Republican Chris Vance with 27.51% of the vote.

In the Governor’s race, incumbent Democrat Jay Inslee (49.3%) and Republican Bill Bryant (38.33%) are the top two candidates out of the 11 who ran.

The top two candidates for Lt. Governor which also drew 11 candidates are Democrat Cyrus Habib who ended up with 22.26% of the vote and Republican Marty McClendon who finished with 19.17%.

The top two candidates for Secretary of State are incumbent Republican Kim Wyman (47.9%) and Democrat Tina Podlodowski (46.13%)

The top two candidates for State Treasurer are Republicans Duane Davidson (25.09%) and Michael Waite (23.33%).

The top two candidates for State Auditor are Republican Mark Miloscia (36.71%) and Democrat Pat (Patrice) McCarthy (29.09%).

In the race for Attorney General, incumbent Democrat Bob Ferguson, with 72.61% of the vote, will face Libertarian Joshua B. Trumbull who received 27.39%.

The top two candidates for Commissioner of Public Lands are Republian Steve McLaughlin (37.95%) and Democrat Hilary Franz (22.8%).

The top two candidates for Superintendent of Public Instruction are still Erin Jones (25.76%) and Chris Reydal (20.95%).

The top two candidate for Insurance Commissioner are incumbent Democrat Mike Kreidler (58.41%) and Republican Richard Schrock (34.09%).

And the top two candidates for Supreme Court Justice Position 5 are incumbent Barbara Madson (63.9%) and Greg Zempel (29.71%).

The turnout for this election statewide was 34.88%.