Primary Election Results – Updated 8/5/15

vote2013A more clearer picture has emerged in the results of the Primary Election after over 700 more ballots were counted Wednesday. With few additional ballots expected, it appears the General Election match ups have been set.

In the race for Shelton City Commissioner of Finance, Kathy McDowell still leads but now with 48.18% or (528 votes). Incumbent Mike Olsen is next, dropping a little to 28.74% (315 votes). And the third candidate in the race,  Erick Onsiko, picked up a little ground and now has 23.08% (253 votes). McDowell will face Olsen on November 3rd.

The latest unofficial results show higher approval rates for the fire district levies.

Mason County Fire District 4’s Emergency Medical Services Levy is now passing with 73.15% voting in favor. That’s 1,286 voting “Yes” and 472 voting “No”.

In Mason County Fire District 5 (Central Mason Fire & EMS), the approval rate for their EMS Levy is now over 74%: 74.18%. That’s 2,902 voting “Yes” and 1,010 voting “No”.

For Shelton School Board Position No. 1, Sally Brownfield has increased her lead now with 45.75% (1,239 votes). William (Bill) Shanahan is still next but now with 29.47% (798 votes). And the third candidate, incumbent Carolyn Gravatt-Bowles, lost a little ground, now with 24.78% (671 votes). These numbers do not reflect the 43 write-ins and the over 300 voters who decided not to vote for anyone on the ballot which is known as Under Votes. However, it appears Brownfield will take on Shanahan in November.

And the latest numbers for the Trails End Water District Commissioner Position No. 2 race still have Deborah Watson as the leader, picking up seven votes, now with 65 votes (67.71%). The incumbent is still followed by Roni German, now with 17 votes (17.71%). William Unruh now has 9 votes (9.38%) and Deborah Tracy remained with 5 votes (5.21%). Watson and German will face off in the General Election.

Election officials in the Mason County Auditor’s Office have now counted 7,466 ballots from the Primary election, making the turnout 33.21%. The next count is 4 PM August 17 with the election certified on August 18.