Five File During Special Candidate Filing Period

Five people have entered five General Election races during a special three-day filing period this week.  The Mason County Auditor’s Elections Department held the filing period for seats that no one filed for during the regular filing period in May. Those seats were:

Mason County Cemetery District
Commissioner Position No. 1, Two-Year Unexpired Term
Commissioner Position No. 2, Six-Year Short and Full Term
Commissioner Position No. 3, Four-Year Unexpired Term

Fire Protection District No. 1
Commissioner Position No. 1, Two-Year Unexpired Term

Port of Dewatto
Commissioner District No. 2, Six-Year Term

Port of Grapeview
Commissioner District No. 1, Six-Year Term

Grapeview School District No. 54
School Board Position No. 5, Four-Year Term

Tahuya River Water District
Commissioner Position No. 3, Two-Year Unexpired Term

According to the Auditor’s Office, Don Torrey and Stephen (Steve) Van Denover filed for Grapeview School Board Position #5; Barbara Bodin filed for Mason County Fire District #1 Commissioner Position #1; Laurence (Larry) Mayfield  filed forTahuya River Water District Commission Position #3; and  Eddy (Van Haven) Soden filed for Port of Dewatto Commission Position #2. No one filed for the three seats on the Mason County Cemetery District Commission and Port of Grapeview Commissioner District #1.

Each candidate will skip the primary next month and appear on the General Election Ballot in November.