Official Election Results

2013MasonWebTVELECTIONThe results from the November 5, 2013 election are now official.

Tracy Moore has beaten Kathy McDowell for Shelton City Commissioner of Streets and Public Improvement. Moore won by 13 votes getting 836 votes (50.39%) to McDowell’s 823 votes (49.61%).

The official numbers for the Port of Shelton Commissioner Position 3 have Kristy Buck with 3,369 votes (60.96%) and Jay Hupp with 2,158 votes (39.04%).

The Port of Grapeview’s property tax levy lid lift failed with 56.5% of the voters saying “no” to raising the levy rate to $0.1386 per thousand of assessed value. That’s 704 voting against the measure and 542 voting for the measure.

In the Pioneer School District, the $26.9 Million construction bond to reconfigure and expand the primary school and replace the middle school fell short of the 60% required to pass with 58.75% approving the measure. That’s 2,024 voting for the bond and 1,421 voting against.

For the Pioneer School Board, Ginny Beech beat Dick Parrett for Position No. 3. That’s 1,396 votes (57.21%) for Beech to Parrett’s 1,044 votes (42.79%). The race of Position No. 5 went to Mike Felton by 88 votes. That’s 1,196 votes (51.91%) for Felton to John Welch’s 1,108 votes (48.09%).

In the Shelton School District, Brenda Hirschi won the Director District No. 3 seat over Jason Alvarado 2,713 votes (66.61%) to 1,360 votes (33.39%). The School Board Position No. 1 went to Jim Carnahan. Carnahan ended up with 2,218 votes (51.51%) to Ross Gallagher’s 2,088 (48.49%).

Moving to the Fire Districts…

There was overwhelming support for forming the North Mason Regional Fire Authority with 74.25% of the voters in Mason County Fire Districts 2 and 8 voting “yes” to form the authority next year and provide fire protection and emergency medical services funded with a regular property tax levy of $1.50 per $1,000 of assessed value and a six-year Emergency Medical tax of $.50 per $1,000 of assessed value. That’s 2,342 voting in favor of the measure and 812 voting against. (These results are from both Mason and Kitsap Counties)

In Mason County Fire District 13, 58.41% of the voters are in favor of raising their property taxes to $1.00 per thousand of assessed value. That’s 250 voting “yes” and 178 voting “no”.

Mason County Fire District 18?s property tax levy lid lift passed with 68.14% of the voters in favor of raising their rate to $1.00 per thousand of assessed value. That’s 400 voting “yes” and 187 voting “no”.

The following is Fire District Commission races with two candidates…

Mike Creighton beat Michael Barth 521 votes (54.16%) to 441 votes (45.84%) for Fire District 3 Commissioner Position 3.

Del Griffey won over Richard Knight 2,338 votes (54.83%) to 1,926 votes (45.17%) for Fire District 5 Commissioner Position 3.

In fire District 8, Daniel Kewish over Steve Christensen for Position No. 2, 186 votes to 160.

In Fire District 12, Michael Evans beat John Pais 134 votes to 120 for Position No. 1.

In Fire District 16, William (Bill) Reed won by 44 votes over incumbent Jake Frey: 199 votes to 155 votes.

And in Fire District 17, Richard Honeysett beat Dave Moore by 29 votes: 115 to 86.

Moving to the water district commission races with two candidates…

Roger Ray beat John Diehl 130 votes to 35 for Hartstene Pointe Water-Sewer District Commissioner Position No. 3.

In the Maggie Lake Water District, Conrad Dodd over Woody Flynn 47 to 33 for Position No. 1 and Elizabeth Matthews beat Ronald Adams 49 to 33 for Position No. 2.

For Tahuya River Water District Commissioner Position No. 3, Pretoria (Torri) Randles won with 24 votes over Laurence Mayfield’s 18.

And in the Trails End Water District, Joe Morris won 95 votes to William Unruh’s 33 for Commissioner Position No. 1. And Sarah Carlson beat 73 votes to Dan Burrus’ 41 for Commissioner Position No. 3.

Election officials in the Mason County Auditor’s Office counted 18,013 ballots, which puts the turnout of this election at 51.25%.


Digiprove sealCopyright protected by Digiprove © 2013 Dedrick Allan